Government Counter Fraud Awards Government Counter Fraud Awards Government Counter Fraud Awards Government Counter Fraud Awards

About the awards

** Entries for the 2019 Awards have now closed and we will soon be announcing the shortlist. **

Each year, the public sector loses billions of pounds to fraud and corruption. Despite stretched resources and a constantly shifting landscape, counter fraud practitioners have proven incredibly resourceful and creative in their approach.

The annual Government Counter Fraud Awards celebrate the exceptional work being done to protect public funds in the UK – just take a look at the 2016 and 2017 winners.

There are eight Award categories designed to showcase a broad range of counter fraud and anti-corruption cases, initiatives and projects.

For the 2019 Awards we have introduced two new categories – ‘Outstanding International Collaboration’ in recognition of the borderless nature of fraud and ‘Outstanding Contribution to the Government Counter Fraud Profession (GCFP)’, which acknowledges the significant work being done to establish the profession.

Selecting the winners is a rigorous, two-step process. First, the selection panel carefully scrutinises each entry, choosing those to be shortlisted. The shortlisted entries are then passed onto the Awards judges who meet to discuss each one in turn.

The winners will then be announced at a special gala drinks reception at the Queen Elizabeth II Centre in London on 13 February 2019, following the Counter Fraud 2019 conference.

The Awards are completely free to enter, we just ask that you carefully read the Q&As and terms and conditions below.

If you’re interested in sponsoring the Awards, they are a great way to raise the profile of your brand and to network with leading figures from across the public sector counter fraud arena.

Launched in 2016, the Awards are hosted by the CIPFA Counter Fraud Centre, the National Crime Agency (NCA)Cabinet Office and City of London Police and build on the success and prestige of the Fighting Fraud Awards.

“Don’t be afraid to have a go. Make sure you invest time and effort to prepare your entry so that it reads well, responds to the criteria and importantly includes supporting materials.” Fraser Paterson, manager of the Fraud Prevention team at NHS Scotland Counter Fraud Services (CFS), winners of the 2016 Excellence in Fraud Prevention Award

Who can enter?

Why enter?

What will the judges be looking for?

How to enter

Entry deadline

Entry fee

Terms and conditions of entry

Recognising excellence in counter fraud